Healing through Music – Music for Relaxation

healing-through-music

Music Healing – Kapil Srivastava talks on ‘Role & Importance of music’ for everyone

1) Why is Music therapy done? – Healing through Music is prevalent since historic time, which is today started getting explored, considered and developed as a formal tool rather informal, to heal and cure stress related or stress based diseases. Stress is the fact of today’s modern world and In fact every disease has stress as its cause from home abuse, suicide, road-rages to cancer. People cure stress via running from stress or overlooking stress as breaking free but stress resides somewhere inside human body/mind and stays untouched and can be detrimental in long run. There are a many stress related facts and case studies upon it.

So Now Music is being looked basically as modern and aesthetical approach by corporate/schools/management. Whereas Medical Science sees it as a ‘complementary medicine’, See cancer – winning the battle.

It’s just like you take help of other complementary medicines – yoga, reiki etc., music is indeed a great stress relief.

Educationists in America have realized music study as part of our complete personality growth. It’s now more important than computers at elementary level.

2) How is it done? – This is done in various ways from learning sessions, listening sessions thus influencing psychological, physical, emotional state and development. Also a trained therapist works on specially designed sessions to cure a problem. Apart from that Indulging in music is itself a therapy but yes which music is to choose or where to go is the work of trained therapist. Neither every music/sound has healing effect nor can every music act as a therapy but on the contrary can negatively impact the state of mind. For reference – Ragas are associated to reduce various heart related problems, insomnia etc. Ragas are relative to certain emotions, it can trigger certain brain functions.

3) What is the process of doing it? – The way you go to a dentist and listening music affects your attention and anxiety level. Similarly you take music sessions, perform, meditate, imbibe, indulge and exercise in music to get an overall impact.

4) Has it been accepted in today’s generation? – It’s growing in proportion to its awareness.

5) What are the benefits of doing it? –

Music can be a source of mental bath, maximum mental activity & brain functions, improved IQ, physical improvement in synch with mind, memory, attention level, alertness, more organizing, patience and so many attributes. The way a jogging session of 40 minutes affects body, a music session of 40 minutes affects all physical, mental and emotional state.

© Guitarmonk | info@guitarmonk.com

Published by

Founder - Guitarmonk

One of India’s Best Guitarists, awarded and recognized by State Government, Delhi University, Rotary Club, Federation of Public Schools, Amity etc. This Delhi born Guitarist, who has led more than 5000 Guitar fanatics worldwide is author of 6 famous Guitar books & founder of guitarmonk. Kapil has performed guitar with Sa Re Ga Ma HMV and other record labels. Music Composing in Bollywood Movie ‘Dubai Returns’ Guitar Albums are - Indian Guitaroo Series, Ragas on Guitar etc. kapilguitarist@gmail.com | www.facebook.com/kapilguitarist

21 thoughts on “Healing through Music – Music for Relaxation”

  1. Music is a wonderful and graceful healing tool that I use daily, I would also like to say that music is also the only universal communication method.

    Perhaps you should look into Solfeggio Harmonics a very ancient and almost lost set of harmonic frequencies that are beautiful at healing the mind body and soul.

    Great post, thanks.

  2. For those whose minds are racing, and cannot stop loops of thought, music may offer a method for calming respite. When the mind is not bogged down with unnecessary thought, those good qualities you mentioned in point 5 can come to the surface. They can grow and mature.

  3. I am a believer of using music to heal, currently I am caring for my husband who has stage 3b NSC lung cancer and I am working a full time job as well. We have a 16 year old at home and a 22 year old that just moved to Germany. Music helps me relax and heal the stressed out nerves to go another day and be the rock for the family. The fluid sound of your guitar is like a gentle brook flowing. Thank you for finding me.

  4. Music has always been a great source of stress relief for me. It’s also been one of the few things that can lift me out of my melancholy or slow down the hyper-analytical thought mode that I sometimes fall into.

    Certain types of music just seem to cradle me when I’m feeling really sad, and other types make me feel energized for tasks that I keep putting off.

    I have heard about the Solfeggio Harmonics as a friend told me about them…and then I forgot about them again…so thanks for the tickle, Stuart.

  5. Dear Friends,

    In reference to my post. I am sharing you one of the song which we use for therapy here and it’s also part of our 5 Minutes to Music Therapy Playlist.

    This is Music for Morning as the Raga is a Morning Raga – let me know how you feel about it. – http://youtu.be/NFjTilZA4tM

    Please share your opinions.

    Thanks

  6. I have a classical music station on the car radio for traffic jams; play blues on harmonica to reach deep and let stress go. Classical music played through a speaker on a pregnant woman’s stomach is believed by many to help “wire” the babies brain. Music does much in the way of mood control and mental growth. Good post.

  7. Hi, we look like kindred souls. Check out my healing music blog, http://www.wholemusicexp.blogspot.com & you can follow me on Twitter at Wholemusicexp

    I know more about sound healing and psychoacoustics than music therapy, but it’s all related with the conscious use of sound/music. Have you read Joshua Leeds “The Power of Sound”? I read the 2001 version, but I found out today that there is an updated version available.

  8. I have known personally that music is therapeutic my entire life, although maybe I didn’t think about it in scientific terms until I started playing music with birds and was enchanted by their natural gift for participation with it. Very basically I think the reason why music affects us so strongly is due to the physical vibrations produced by music. But also on a very basic level I think music has existed since the beginning of life on earth and probably even before, and it is intrinsic to life.
    Thanks for following my blog and giving me the opportunity to discover yours.

  9. I’m playing (western) classical music lately which is what I studied when I was younger, but I have played jazz and folk and rock music in former lives and am interested in all musical styles. Repetition is the key to understanding a new music, it’s the anticipation of what’s coming next that makes it attractive. I guess in pop music that’s called a “hook.” I’m also fascinated by the way music and language influence each other.
    As for the birds they seem to prefer tonal music, they need to know what key they’re in.

  10. Thank you for following my blog. I agree with what you say about the spiritual and healing power of music. Music has been an important part of my life since early childhood; I enjoy many forms of music, and I sing in a choir. Singing is said to be highly therapeutic; I am interested too that humming and chanting is part of Hindu and Buddhist traditions. I would love to see more people overcome their false belief that they “cannot sing”. Good luck with your blog, and with your healing music.

Leave a Reply

